Peer Support Program

  • Description
  • Dates
  • Book
  • Placing students at the centre of their learning, we empower them with practical skills and strategies to positively navigate life and relationships.

    Participating students realise the significant outcomes of the program, including better connectedness, reduction in bullying behaviours, improved resilience and a greater sense of possibility.

    The Peer Support Program achieves this by helping students develop and sustain:

    • positive relationships
    • agency
    • sense of self
    • responsibility for self and others

     

    How to implement the Peer Support Program

    1 – Schools register teacher representatives to attend a one day Peer Support Implementation Workshop where they will learn about the implementation, resources and benefits of the Peer Support Program. These attendees will be qualified as Peer Support Coordinators for their school.

    2 – Schools purchase the Peer Support Manual, as well as a Peer Support Program Module to be used by students. If resources are purchased prior to an Implementation Workshop there will be an option to collect these on the day.

    3 – Schools conduct two days of training with older students, where they learn skills to facilitate activities with younger students.

    4 – Under the supervision of teachers, these trained Peer Leaders facilitate sessions from a Module with a group of 8-10 younger students. Module activities include skills and strategies for developing connectedness, resilience, sense of self, and sense of possibility.

    5 – Teachers offer students ongoing training and support throughout the group sessions and afterwards through the implementation of debriefs.

    Time:9am – 4pm
    View Workshop Dates
    Cost: $250 for first participant

    50% discount for every subsequent participant at the same session

    Workshop Content
    • Understanding of a whole school approach to creating a positive school culture
    • A best practice model for implementing the Peer Support Program
    • Key underpinnings of the Peer Support Program
    • Curriculum, policy, and other educational initiative links
    • Supporting research on mental health of young people
    • Action plan for implementation
    • Opportunity to network and share ideas with other teachers
    • The Workshop allows time for planning and discussion of your school’s specific implementation plans. Having a colleague from your school to work with during this process is particularly valuable, although not essential.

    If there is no workshop listed in your area, please contact us to discuss other training possibilities.

    Completing The Peer Support Australia Implementation Workshop will contribute 6 hours of NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) Registered PD addressing 3.5.2, 6.4.2, 6.3.2, 7.4.2 from the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers towards maintaining Proficient Teacher Accreditation in NSW.
    By registering to attend a Peer Support Australia workshop, you agree to our organisation’s Terms & Conditions.

    Workshops Dates

    Each year, we run multiple Peer Support Program Implementation Workshops across Australia.

    DATE
    LOCATION
    Tuesday 05/02/2019
    Brisbane QLD Book
    Wednesday 06/02/2019
    Adamstown NSW Book
    Thursday 07/02/2019
    Ultimo NSW Book
    Wednesday 13/02/2019
    Penrith NSW Book
    Tuesday 19/02/2019
    Docklands VIC Book
    Wednesday 20/02/2019
    Darwin NT Book
    Thursday 21/02/2019
    Towradgi NSW Book
    Tuesday 26/02/2019
    North Adelaide SA Book
    Thursday 07/03/2019
    Bathurst NSW Book
    Wednesday 13/03/2019
    Cronulla NSW Book
    Thursday 21/03/2019
    North Hobart TAS Book
    Tuesday 26/03/2019
    East Tamworth NSW Book
    Tuesday 26/03/2019
    Floreat WA Book
    Thursday 28/03/2019
    Esperance WA Book
    Thursday 28/03/2019
    Albury NSW Book
    See All Dates

    Workshops Dates

    Each year, we run multiple Peer Support Program Implementation Workshops across Australia.

    DATE
    LOCATION
    Tuesday 05/02/2019
    Brisbane QLD Book
    Wednesday 06/02/2019
    Adamstown NSW Book
    Thursday 07/02/2019
    Ultimo NSW Book
    Wednesday 13/02/2019
    Penrith NSW Book
    Tuesday 19/02/2019
    Docklands VIC Book
    Wednesday 20/02/2019
    Darwin NT Book
    Thursday 21/02/2019
    Towradgi NSW Book
    Tuesday 26/02/2019
    North Adelaide SA Book
    Thursday 07/03/2019
    Bathurst NSW Book
    Wednesday 13/03/2019
    Cronulla NSW Book
    Thursday 21/03/2019
    North Hobart TAS Book
    Tuesday 26/03/2019
    East Tamworth NSW Book
    Tuesday 26/03/2019
    Floreat WA Book
    Thursday 28/03/2019
    Esperance WA Book
    Thursday 28/03/2019
    Albury NSW Book
    Tuesday 02/04/2019
    North Ryde NSW Book
    Wednesday 01/05/2019
    Wantirna VIC Book
    Tuesday 07/05/2019
    Stirling ACT Book
    Thursday 09/05/2019
    Rooty Hill NSW Book
    Tuesday 14/05/2019
    Robina QLD Book
    Wednesday 22/05/2019
    Waitara NSW Book
    Tuesday 04/06/2019
    Prestons NSW Book
    Thursday 06/06/2019
    East Toowoomba QLD Book
    Tuesday 18/06/2019
    Ultimo NSW Book
    Wednesday 19/06/2019
    Sale VIC Book
    Wednesday 26/06/2019
    Port Augusta West SA Book
    Thursday 01/08/2019
    North Ryde NSW Book
    Tuesday 06/08/2019
    Milawa VIC Book
    Wednesday 14/08/2019
    Belgian Gardens QLD Book
    Tuesday 20/08/2019
    Coffs Harbour NSW Book
    Thursday 22/08/2019
    Dubbo NSW Book
    Wednesday 28/08/2019
    Wagga Wagga NSW Book
    Thursday 05/09/2019
    West Gosford NSW Book
    Tuesday 10/09/2019
    Castle Hill NSW Book
    Wednesday 18/09/2019
    North Hobart Tas Book
    Wednesday 16/10/2019
    Maroochydore QLD Book
    Thursday 17/10/2019
    Bankstown NSW Book
    Tuesday 29/10/2019
    Floreat WA Book
    Thursday 31/10/2019
    Albany WA Book
    Wednesday 06/11/2019
    Ultimo NSW Book
    Tuesday 12/11/2019
    Pakenham VIC Book
    Thursday 14/11/2019
    North Adelaide SA Book
    Wednesday 20/11/2019
    Brisbane QLD Book
    Thursday 21/11/2019
    Armidale NSW Book
    Tuesday 26/11/2019
    Stirling ACT Book
    Wednesday 04/12/2019
    Parkville VIC Book
    Monday 09/12/2019
    Waitara NSW Book
  • Select

    Price $250

    for first participant, every additional participant at 50% discount.
    If you are not a member, an additional 1st year membership fee of $140 will be added to your invoice, after you submit your workshop booking request.