Our Board


Lorraine Walker

Chair | BA DipEd, Grad Cert Religious Education Lorraine was appointed to the Board in 2008. She was elected Deputy Chair on 1 November 2010 and appointed Chair on the 20 November 2014. Lorraine has extensive experience in education, particularly in the Catholic Sector over a period of twenty years as a teacher of History, English and Religious Education. From 1990 to 2000 Lorraine was the Assistant Principal – Pastoral Care at a large Catholic School with an enrolment of 1,500 students. Lorraine retired in 2009 as State Coordinator – Student Welfare Programs with the Catholic Education Commission NSW. Since retiring she has established a small education consultancy. Portfolio – Education and Program Development

Appointed – 29.07.08

tim denny

Tim Denny

Deputy Chair | FCPA, BBus (Acc/Fin) Tim has worked in the field of copyright for more than 30 years, specialising in the intellectual property held in musical works. Tim is currently the Chief Financial Officer of APRA and AMCOS and in addition manages the accounting function of the Australian Music Centre. Portfolio – Financial Management, Copyright, Governance

Appointed – 18.11.2017


Cheryl Hayman

Board Member | BCom FAICD Cheryl was appointed to the board in 2007 and appointed as Deputy Chair on the 20 November 2014. Cheryl brings extensive experience in marketing with a variety of corporations, primarily through her role as Marketing Director. Cheryl is a professional non-executive Director, a Fellow of the AICD and sits on several boards including Clover Corp (ASX:CLV), HGL Ltd (ASX:HNG), Chartered Accountants Aust/NZ, the Australian Institute of Food, Science and Technology (AIFST), and Women On Boards. Cheryl also works in an advisory, teaching and mentoring capacity with numerous organisations and individuals. Portfolio – Marketing and Communications, Nominations Committee

Appointed – 30.04.07

tim kitching

Tim Kitching

Board Member | BA, DFS, JP Tim was appointed to the board in 2013 and brings a wealth of experience across both the Private and Public Sectors as a senior leader and Board Member. Tim’s background is in General Management with expertise in Leadership, Operations, Project Management, Risk Management, Compliance and Law Enforcement. Tim has strong ties to his community with 15 years service as a unit leader in the NSW State Emergency Service before moving into less physically demanding ways to support our community.  He is currently a management consultant specialising in leadership and Executive Coaching. Portfolio – Governance, Funding and Financial Management, Nominations Committee

Appointed – 6.02.13


Dr Michael Nelson

Board Member | BSc, PhD, MAICD Michael was appointed to the Board in 2014. A management consultant with over 20 years of global consulting experience across the public and private sectors, Michael specialises in improving, innovating and empowering his clients. Michael also has experience as a teacher in both academic and corporate settings, as an advisor to educational institutions, and as a consultant in education, and educational policy, organisations. Michael is a member of an Industry Advisory Board at UNSW focussed on educating the next generation of Australia’s Information Technology leaders. Portfolio – E-learning/Technology and Strategy Analysis, Ethics Committee

Appointed – 19.08.14


Christine Van Toorn

Board Member | MCom (Hons), CPA, CISA Christine was appointed to the Board in 2015. She brings with her broad industry experience in the fields of Information Systems, Information Technology and Accounting, as well as extensive experience in these areas across academia; she has made a valuable contribution to the other Boards she is associated with. In her current role as an academic at the UNSW Business School, Christine is also responsible for the management of the Business School’s prestigious IS Co-op Scholarship Programs, a role which complements her vast experience across both industry and academia. Christine’s research interests span across the areas of CIO skill sets and competencies and contemporary approaches to eLearning. Her research has been published in leading journals and conferences. Portfolio – Corporate Sponsorship, Funding and IT, Ethics Committee

Appointed – 16.02.15

maria scott

Maria Scott

Board Member | MAICD Maria was appointed to the board in 2018.  She has over 30 years of marketing, public relations and communications experience over three continents and has been responsible for conceiving and managing strategic and well-executed marketing campaigns in Australia, the US and the Asia-Pacific region for a range of corporate clients. Maria has been successfully running her own business for over 17 years. As a freelance executive, she has undertaken assignments for a number of companies across various market sectors including property, legal, financial, medical, insurance, technology, telecommunications, government and private organisations. In 2015, Maria as recognised by the Urban Development Institute of Australia for Excellence in Marketing in the property sector. Maria is a current Board member of Adele House, a drug and alcohol centre and is involved in Rotary International. She was previously a board member of the Property Industry Foundation Ball Committee, a charity that raises money for Kids at Risk. Appointed – 9.08.18

Julia Quinn 

Board Member | BA  Julia has over 20 years’ experience in reputation management and stakeholder engagement across the industrial, government, professional and financial services sectors. She is the Group Executive, Public Affairs at Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and has a track record in community involvement both professionally and personally for more than 15 years, more recently as a founder of the Sydney Women’s Giving Circle. Having begun her career in NSW Government Julia has since worked with some of Australasia’s leading brands from Westpac to Qantas, Caltex, AMP and AGL as well as a range of global organisations including King & Wood Mallesons and Korn Ferry.  Appointed – 20.06.19